top of page

14th Ivara Inner-Club Competition (in the Hustle)!

I was waiting to announce the results of my dance competition in a long, richly-detailed blog post, but it's taking me an inordinately long time to write down all the thoughts, feelings, and memories that I want to share. So, as we wait for my writer's block to flutter away, I would like to share some big news with you all right now, right this very moment!

Drumroll please...

I WON!

I WON!

I WON!

My partner, Sergei, and I placed FIRST in the beginner's nomination. I'm thrilled! We worked so hard. So much Russian. Much stress. Little sleep. A lot of sweat. A little panic. A fair amount of nausea. Joy, joy, triumph joy! I will expand on all of these brief, vague statements in the next blog post. But, in the meantime, I did it! I found a partner, I registered, I conversed in Russian, I found shoes, I organized private lessons, I danced every day (sometimes twice a day), and now I have a trophy and a medal and a certificate to prove it! I wanted this so much, but I didn't think it would actually happen. I'm so happy and so proud of myself and I also feel like my heart has expanded at least 2 times in my chest.

Wonderful things can happen once you decide to make wonderful things happen, people!

Nothing good ever comes unless you ask for it.

Don't wait.

Be brave!

Smile! (Even when you're afraid you look silly.)

I'm officially allowed to give advice now because I'm a champion. More importantly, I have a shiny golden trophy to prove it.

Sigh. It's beautiful.

More pictures and riveting dialogue coming your way soon!

Xoxoxoxo,

Aubrey


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page